50s plastic kitsch

50s plastic kitschPlastic kitsch
made in Australia c.1950s

A lovely collection of kitschy plastics grouped around a ‘white’ theme. The swan is a little memento holder, the flowery salt and pepper shakers [the ‘leaves’ screw off to allow the insertion of said salt and pepper] speak for themselves, and the lovely woven basket was originally sold as a bread basket. The teaspoons are 50s picnicware and lend a little comparative colour to the image.

I often ponder my love of kitsch- I am aware that I have a great fascination for 50s swans. This is due -I think- to being refused a [probably horribly tasteless] swan of my own when I was young. All my friends had bedrooms swimming [terrible pun] with swans…it was the 60s and my mother thought they were terribly tacky. She was right. But I’m the one left with an enduring love for all things kitsch.

For sale: $AUD45

Buy Now

3 thoughts on “50s plastic kitsch

Leave a Reply

