Retro 50s & 60s buckles

50s bucklesRetro buckles
made in Australia 1950s-1960s

This collection comprises 21 plastic dress buckles from the 50s and 60s. I collected the buckles from all over the shop [pardon the pun] will a view to making some use of them in my sewing. Alas I haven’t, and I shan’t. But I know people collect buckles and I know people who sew vintage who might like to make use of them.

The cross-stitched kookaburra is in the image as an organising piece. I originally bought this framed piece for a friend who collects all things kookaburra. That was when I discovered that A LOT of people collect all things kookaburra. My friend didn’t want the cross stitch and so I tucked it away in my ‘styling’ pieces for blog photos. Now I’m kinda fond of it.

21 retro buckles for sale: $AUD60

Buy Now

7 thoughts on “Retro 50s & 60s buckles

    • You are definitely channelling the zeitgeist! i have become fond of kookaburras too, now…retro and real ~ we have them here in Sydney’s inner-west, laughing especially in the mornings.

    • necklaces are a great repurposing idea. i’ve seen retro buckles made into fantastic brooches, too. laurie, i bet your US buckles are just as cool…you have a great collector’s eye!

Leave a Reply

