Calypso!

Broadhurst by Kathie Winkle ‘Calypso’ platter
made in England 1963

I am a huge Kathie Winkle fan: she produced over one hundred patterns for Broadhurst between 1958 and 1975. And it seems I’m not the only one: recently Kathie re-released several of the more popular patterns [see her website.]

However, these new releases are not handpainted, don’t have wonky registration of the transfer patterns, and look too – new and perfect. I much prefer the originals, and take great satisfaction from collecting them in the ‘wild’. So far, I have: Corinth [1967] Calypso [1963] Newlyn [1963] Tashkent, Kontiki [1965] Renaissance, Electra, Rushstone [1965] Michelle [1968] – and – Kimberley [1973.]

This is a fabulously large platter, ‘Calypso’. It was the pattern that my partner grew up with, in the 60s. I think she is starting to embrace it again- meanwhile- I think I love it anew.

And it’s for sale. Start your Kathie Winkle collection today! My ideal would be to have a place setting in six different patterns- fabulous! $AU35

Buy Now

Leave a Reply

