Fay and Don

Fay and Don reader, 1953Fay and Don Children’s Reader
Printed in NSW, Australia 1953

I have a passion for children’s readers- and I remember Fay and Don from primary school [must have been an old edition then – I’m a child of the 60s.] I also remember Dick and Jane and managed to collect a copy of that reader- and the infamous Gay Days, which I also have [see post below.]

Even as a child I remember the stilted stories: “See the cat, Fay.” “Yes, Father, I see the cat.” Reading them as an adult is even more hilarious. It was the illustrations that got me in, and the idea that Mother and Father were so important as to warrant a Capital Letter – and that the family seemed to be harmonious. Fay and Don – the daughter and son of the books title – were quite egalitarian and there was no hint of gender disparity. Quite different from the world that I experienced.

It’s interesting the role that nostalgia plays in collecting – I remember this book with such fondness, even while I laugh at it now as an adult.

Fay and Don is in good vintage condition, and is for sale: $AUD35

Buy Now

7 thoughts on “Fay and Don

  1. Do you think Fay was older, or were they twins? I remember Dick and Jane from Tasmania. My Central European migrant mother was bemused, I remember. thanks for the interesting posts.

    • Don is older than Fay because he was drawn taller than her- although his vocabulary was as rudimentary as hers (but then, so was Mother’s and Father’s.) It’s interesting that Dick and Jane made it to Tassie- being published in NSW- nationally famous! Thanks for your compliment and comment.

Leave a Reply

