40s sewing caddy [sold]

1940s sewing caddy1940s sewing caddy
made in Australia

Readers! For you delectation and delight I present to you – a hand-made sewing caddy. As you can see in the images- the caddy is on casters and opens up to reveal a little cupboard [with bakelite handle]; cotton reel spool holders and various drawers for fabric and notions and such. What a beauty!

The real appeal of the caddy is the bow-fronted drawers, which are staggered to allow them to slot into one another when the caddy closes. A fantastic design. The timber cabinet has expressed mortice and tenon joints, attesting to its craftsmanship.

The casters are new- and quite spoil the rustic, hand-made appeal of the caddy- but they can easily be exchanged for some rough old industrial casters. The little cupboard door is a little wonky with age, but still closes and its hinges, etc are all original and working. I’m not sure of the timber, it’s an Australian fruit wood – but not sure which one. The caddy closes with a steel hinged latch, slightly rusted in suitable aged style.

The caddy could be used for all sorts of storage: when I first bought it I had visions of using it to style my collection; I have a ‘timber’ theme to all my images and I thought this would make a handsome backdrop. Alas, I haven’t used it thus- and now it is for sale.

For sale: $AUD175

Leave a Reply

