M<agic Brain C<omputer [sold]

MBC + slide rulesMagic Brain Computer, pocket calculator made in Japan c. 1950s
Micador 10 and Sun Hemmi bamboo slide rulers, made in Japan 1954

Following on from my last – nostalgic- post discussing technical scales, here are some calculation tools from the 50s.

I love the Magic Brain Computer [MBC]- for its name alone. Anyone who combines ‘magic’ and ‘computer’ has got it right as far as I’m concerned. It’s totally nerdy, but vintage nerdy! This ‘computer’ is aluminium and you use a stylus to move the columns of figures up and down- sort of like an abacus but with numerals. It comes with full operating instructions…and a smart vinyl case!

The three 10” slide rules are beautiful…and about the same vintage as the MBC. The two Sun Hemmi slide rules are bamboo laminated plastic- and the Micador is solid plastic. The two Sun Hemmi slide rules come with their original [and by the looks of them- untouched] calculation and equations piece that slides up and down the scale. All three slide rules come in their original boxes.

Totally vintage nerdy! This set is for sale: $155

9 thoughts on “M<agic Brain C<omputer [sold]

  1. It feels somehow strange today that I still learnd in school how to calculate using a slide rule. Multiplying by adding, based on a logarithmic scale. I am not sure I still know how to do it. But one could completely understand how it worked, nothing hidden. Electronic pocket calculators came up at the same time and I guess the slide rule soon disappeard from the curiculum. I think the one we had was called “Aristo Scholar”. I think I still have one or two slide rules somewhere, from my father (maybe from one of my grandfathers who was an engineer. I have to check (after finding them).

      • Cool, retro-knowledge! I think they are good to get a less abstract understanding of the concept of a function, to understand algorithms etc. Plus, they have a certain beauty. I have to find my own again, they are somewhere downstairs, packed away.

  2. Love the slide rules- my mum and I have both picked up a few vintage and antique rulers and slide rules, I’m not sure why they are so appealing, but I know I like them! They do look good displayed together in a group on the wall though.

    • hey- i love slide rules too. i like the moving parts and all the intricate markings. I love the idea of displaying them on a wall- I’ll have a go and see what I can come up with- brilliant idea! thanks!

Leave a Reply

