50s pixies

50s pixie planter & figurinesPixie log planter and figurines
made in Japan 1950s

Pixies are another perennial interest of mine: I so wanted one when I was small- only to be told by my mother that they were ‘common’ [by which she meant ‘kitsch’.] Who doesn’t aspire to what is denied them?- and – is it any wonder that I am now a total devotee of kitsch?

I love this pixie log planter [unmarked but researched to indicate made in Japan in the 50s.] I love the seated pixie [ditto] and the standing angel [ditto] – so kitsch but also completely adorable. All three figurines have some rubbing evident- they exhibit some lost of handpainted over-glaze- but I think that just adds to their charm.

This trio is for sale: $AUD85

Buy Now

4 thoughts on “50s pixies

Leave a Reply

