Bambis

Retro bambisBambis
made in Japan, 1950s

Ok, we’re back into Bambi territory. I have already confessed that the reason I love bambis SO much is that I wasn’t allowed to have one when I was little – they were considered by my parents to be ‘common’ [which I take to be code for ‘kitsch’.] I have observed that a great deal of nostalgia is born from a past longing – it’s not always routed in memory and fondness for something owned then lost. [I’m looking at you- model train collectors…]

These 1950 era bambis were made in Japan – these are NOT Disney figurines, which I think look more ‘commercial’. All the bambis are in repose, except for the back left who is frolicking over a tree stump, and the baby bambi talking to its mother in the back right. Both the rear bambis are ‘planters’ -they have a hollow area in which to grow something. I recently saw the mother and fawn bambi planter for sale on Ebay for $50- which goes to show the extent of Bambi love worldwide [ie: it’s not just me.]

All the bambis are in excellent condition, and are for sale: $AUD125

Buy Now

7 thoughts on “Bambis

Leave a Reply

