Diana ‘Flannel Flower’ pottery

Diana Flannel Flower jugs and vaseDiana Flannel Flower jugs & vase
made in Sydney, Australia c.1960s

Some more of my Diana collection. Flannel Flower is the floral emblem of NSW [and has been associated with this State since Federation in 1901.]  Diana pottery in the 60s produced a number of Sydney specific floral emblems on vases and pots – some were hand painted [and quite garish in my opinion.] I like the more subtle relief work depicting the Flannel flower on these jugs and vase.

The colours of the jugs and the vase seem more in keeping with the 50s; perhaps the baby blues, greens and pinks [examples of which have appeared in previous posts….] were so popular they were carried over into the 60s. My Diana collection finishes with these pieces from the 60s…I really can’t bring myself to embrace the pieces that were made in the 70s.

[Since this image was taken, I have added another, larger white Flannel Flower jug to the collection. I KNOW I’m supposed to be downsizing, but I can’t resist the Flannel Flower pieces!]

This set of three pieces is for sale: $AUD145

Buy Now

9 thoughts on “Diana ‘Flannel Flower’ pottery

Leave a Reply

