Pavlova platters [sold]

Retro pavlova platesIdeal Ironstone Ware Pavlova recipe platters, made in Japan c.1960s

Don’t be fooled, these are “World’s Finest Ironstone; Oven-Proof and Craze-Proof’”.  It is stated quite clearly on the back of the plates. And since I have made a couple of Pavlovas [they being my favourite food, next to Coconut Ice] I can attest to the accuracy of this statement.

Being a pavlova aficionado, I could not but help collect these plates. A plate that is both recipe and baking dish – all in one! – and craze-proof to boot! – what’s not to love? [Although, I agree, the ‘craze’-proof refers to the plate, not to me.]

I have seen these plates –separately- on Ebay for $30 or $40 – clearly there is a pavlova loving public that needs~ 1] a great 60s pavlova recipe and~ 2] a great 60s plate for baking said pavlova. I feel totally vindicated in my pavlova-adoring, craze-proof state of mind!

Four different 60s designs, four totally identical pavlova recipes; these plates are for sale: $AUD65

5 thoughts on “Pavlova platters [sold]

    • yes, i believe a chef in new zealand developed the dessert in her honour…although we australians like to think we invented pavlova, we merely stole it from them. i think (don’t quote me- could be urban myth) the fluffy white meringue is supposed to evoke the ballerina’s tutu.

    • you need a slow oven, long cooking time. trust me, if i can make pav, anyone can. and i love itvthat the recipe plate is also the baking plate…you get a pavlova with retro motifs around the sides!

Leave a Reply

