50s costume jewellery

50s costume jewellery, made in Australia

One of my earliest memories is of my mother’s dark green earrings. To this day, I love green jewellery- especially costume jewellery of a certain vintage.

This necklace and earrings are displayed on a Diana plate [may have mentioned Diana in a few posts, below…] I love botanical images and this wattle plate is a favourite; its colours and vintage accord well with the jewellery. All the jewellery features ‘pearlescence’ – fake pearl-i-ness [I’m not making this up!]- a particularly glamorous invention of the 50s. I especially love the clasp on the necklace – it looks like two earrings on either side of the clasp. Such attention to detail, even when often the clasp was not always seen under a ladies’ 50s bouffant.

The middle pair of [‘grape drop’, olive-green] earrings are screw-on, whilst the other two pairs are clip-ons. The green round earrings are similar in colour/tone to the necklace, although I purchased them separately and they are not a set. However, since every second bead is spherical, I think one could get away with wearing the necklace and the round earrings as an ensemble. The white pearlescence earrings round out a nice little set.

If you buy this set, you must totally send me a photo of you wearing/modelling it!     For sale: $AUD80

Buy Now

8 thoughts on “50s costume jewellery

  1. Your collection continues to amaze and delight. The jewellery is particularly lovely. And such thoughtful styling using the wattle plate.

  2. Hey … Thank you for following my blog for The Antique Jewellery Shop. I thought I’d stop by and have a look at yours 🙂 This particular post is really lovely and well written too! I’m going to look through your other posts too … I hope to learn a little about Australian jewellery! We don’t find much of it over here in the UK. I did have a really beautiful Australian Silver brooch about a year back. It was soooo large and set with a beautiful painted porcelain plaque. It had lovely pea flowers on it if I remember rightly. The silver surround was actually marked Australian. Really rare (in the UK anyway) so find such marked pieces. I can’t recall the makers stamp right now. It dated to the 1930s or thereabouts.

    As regards costume jewellery. A hell of a lot of it is extremely well made and I sometimes think it criminal how little appreciated it is by many people. Its amazing how little you can pick beautiful vintage costume pieces up for.

    Please feel free to take a look around my vintage and antique jewellery website. I don’t sell costume jewellery but I do have a lot of beauitiful silver jewellery for sale. My web address is http://www.antiquejewelleryuk.co.uk.

    Kindest regards

    Cat Gothard

    The Antique Jewellery Shop

    • yes cat- have already discovered your fantastic site! i guess i am more into kitschy glamour than vintage glamour…i mean i love the word pearlescence! and my whole blog is a testiment to my kitschy tastes. i have some more retro/50s costume jewellery to post…and now i look at it again- the colour green features prominently.

Leave a Reply

